Thru-Hiking vs Backpacking

thru_vs_back_header

Recently, I was eaves-dropping on a conversation between a backpacker and a thru-hiker. The backpacker was convinced that the thru-hiker was just like him. The thru-hiker was having none of it. While he admitted that he was backpacking, he was not a “backpacker.” So, I thought I’d dive into the differences of thru-hiking vs backpacking.

Mileage – Generally speaking, the one thing that differentiates a backpacker from a thru-hiker is mileage. Most would agree that a backpacking trip is considered a thru-hike when it is more than 100 miles. Another big difference between the thru-hiker and the backpacker is the amount of miles hiked in a day. While most backpackers tap out around 10 miles, a thru-hiker is pushing for the magical number of 20 or more miles per day. Simply put, this is because thru-hikers are on a stricter deadline. For example, PCT thru-hikers who start in Campo will have a strict 20 mile per day average in order to reach the Canadian border before the snow starts to fall.

Backpack– You would think the gear would be pretty similar between the two, and while they are, a thru-hiker’s gear is going to look different than a backpacker’s. On a multi-week or multi-month long trek, you want to make damn sure that you’ve got your weight down to the smallest number it can get. This isn’t as important when you’re only going out for a couple days. Thru-hikers tend to not over pack, practicing minimalism, and investing in ultra-light gear. While a backpacker may be sporting my favorite full frame pack, an Osprey 65L, a thru-hiker will likely be found in a pack without a frame from say, Waymark Gear at the more respectable volume of 50L.

Shoes – Shoes are shoes right? Wrong. I don’t get it, but thru-hikers tend to prefer the lighter trail runner to the heavier hiking boot that backpackers prefer. I mean, if I was hiking 10-25 miles per day for weeks at a time, I might understand. But I’m definitely team hiking boot as I need that extra support on my ankles.

Water – Thru-hikers are less likely to use a water bladder than backpackers. What you will find more often than not, are a couple of Smart Water bottles and a water filter. Backpackers are also more likely to carry around their booze, while thru-hikers are crossing their fingers for a cold one at the next cache!

Shelter – I’m pretty damn proud of my backpacking tent, the Nemo Hornet 2p. Weighing in at just 2.5 pounds! I doubt you’d find that in a thru-hiker’s pack though. Instead, I’d be expect to see a bivy sack like the Outdoor Research Helium which weighs a truly amazing 1.1 lbs!

Of course these are just a few, very generalized comparisons, but you get the idea of the differences between thru-hiking vs backpacking. Have anything you’d like to add? Let us know in the comments below. And if you’re interested in following a current thru-hiker on the Pacific Crest Trail, might I suggest my fellow Mountain Chicks Ambassador, Jennifer Mabus.

3 thoughts on “Thru-Hiking vs Backpacking

Add yours

  1. Thanks for the comparison. I guess I’m a backpacking section hiker with thru-hiker tendencies. I’ve hiked over 200 miles in one outing, but don’t consider myself a thru-hiker. Someday I would like to do a complete trail in one fell swoop, then I’d call myself a thru-hiker. Something like the JMT, AZT, or ODT.

    Like

    1. Backpacker with thru-hiker tendencies! I like that!!! I feel the same. The JMT is definitely on my list. And the High Sierra Trail. Hopefully on day I’ll have the time and energy to do them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑